Weisberg & Weisberg, P.L.L.C.
Contact Us Today For A Consultation
757-528-2643

What are the typical first-time DUI punishments in Virginia?

Most people are well aware that drunk driving is illegal in Virginia and every other state, but they may not know the details of the law. For example, law enforcement can arrest you on suspicion of DUI if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least 0.08%. You can also face charges if there is an open container of alcohol in your car and you show signs of impairment. And those are just a couple of ways to be accused.

Receiving a DUI conviction on your criminal record comes with legal, financial and personal repercussions. Knowing the specific aspects of drunk driving charges can help you be more aware of the issue, make better choices and be ready in case you ever get in trouble with the law. Here are the penalties you can expect for a first DUI offense.

Fines and potential jail time

Virginia law considers a first-time DUI as a class 1 misdemeanor. The offense requires a mandatory minimum fine of $250, but it can go up to $2,500. There is no mandatory jail time for a first-offense DUI. However, these penalties may be increased by numerous factors, like if there is a minor in the vehicle, your BAC is 0.15% or higher or you cause an accident. 

License revocation and alcohol-program attendance

Your first DUI conviction will result in you losing your license for one year. In order to get your driving privileges back, you must complete an alcohol safety program that involves screening, oversight and education. 

Ignition interlock device

The court or DMV may require the installation of an ignition interlock device on any vehicles you operate after a DUI first offense. That costs money.

How to defend yourself against DUI charges

It is possible to avoid these penalties following a first DUI charge. You may be able to get the court to dismiss your case or you may be able to plea bargain to a lesser charge, and other options may be available, too. Be sure you understand the possibilities.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Let's Do This Together

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

This site uses Google's Invisible reCAPTCHA, which is subject to Google's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Newport News Office
744 Thimble Shoals Blvd
Suite B
Newport News, VA 23606

Phone: 757-528-2643
Fax: 757-310-6926
Newport News Law Office Map