In Virginia, police take domestic violence charges very seriously. When police are called to respond to a domestic disturbance, they will immediately begin looking for physical evidence to support the allegation. They will act quickly to attempt to keep individuals out of harm's way. Unfortunately, this method can lead to an inappropriate or unnecessary arrest. It is our goal to fully investigate the allegations and to defend our clients.
At Weisberg & Weisberg, PLLC in Newport News and Norfolk, we understand the stakes of domestic violence charges and we are prepared to help. With more than 50 years of collective criminal defense experience, our attorneys are here to help you protect your rights and your freedom. We understand that domestic assault charges often go hand-in-hand with a divorce or a relationship in trouble. It is not uncommon for an argument to quickly become heated.
When a dispute becomes physical and law enforcement is called in, individuals now face serious legal consequences and ramifications. Our firm is well-equipped to handle the civil side and the criminal side of these charges, and we will fight to minimize the impact of these allegations on your divorce. As experienced Virginia criminal defense attorneys, we have a depth of legal knowledge that allows us to quickly assess a case and provide a realistic assessment to our clients.
Domestic violence charges are typically accompanied by an Emergency Protective Order (EPO), which forbids the accused from having any contact with the alleged victim for 72 hours. The alleged victim can seek to have the order extended for up to two years. Violating a protective order is a serious offense that carries a mandatory jail sentence.
If you have had a protective order issued against you, it is important to protect your rights. Failure to defend against it could prevent you from entering your own home and seeing your children.
Domestic Assault First Offender Program
In Virginia, certain individuals have the option of participating in the First Offender Program. In these situations, the court will continue the case and order you to complete an anger management course. If you remain on good behavior for two years, the case gets dismissed. While this may be an appropriate option for you to consider, every individual should be aware of the full ramifications of accepting the First Offender Program.
First, even a successful completion of the First Offender Program is not expungeable from your record. Absent a pardon, your records will continue to show that you were charged with domestic assault. Second, when you are involved in a domestic assault investigation, you are probably involved in a challenging relationship. All it takes to derail your First Offender Program is for someone to contact the court and complain that you did something that violates the terms of your "good behavior." Contact our firm to learn more about your options and the hazards you might face.
Contact Us in Newport News or Norfolk Today
A domestic violence conviction has wide-ranging consequences. Without a strong defense you could lose your rights to stay in your own home and see your children. You could lose the right to own a firearm. You could lose your job. This is in addition to criminal consequences such as significant prison sentences.
If you have been arrested for a domestic dispute in Norfolk, Virginia Beach, Newport News, Isle of Wight, Portsmouth, Chesapeake, Smithfield, Suffolk, Hampton, Franklin, North Hampton County, Accomack County, South Hampton County or elsewhere throughout the Eastern Shore of Virginia, the sooner you consult with an experienced criminal defense lawyer, the better your chances of putting this legal problem behind you. Contact Weisberg & Weisberg, PLLC, to schedule a consultation by calling 757-528-2643 in Newport News or 757-777-9214 in Norfolk. We will listen to your concerns and offer real legal solutions.